S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Hot days my S doesn't want move

Old 07-23-2003, 02:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hot days my S doesn't want move

As u all know... On hot summer days our car seems, it doesn't want move...
anyone has solution to that? Any suggestions on cooling cooling? so our cars won't be slow as civics on hot days...
Old 07-23-2003, 03:55 AM

Received 1,058 Likes on 540 Posts

HI Rick...I live on the S tip of Florida where it's hot n humid all the time.. I haven't experienced heat soak yet even with my SC. You may have a problem thats causing it. It will be interesting to see what ideas some of the others have.

bump

fltsfshr
Old 07-23-2003, 04:08 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i've never tried this before, but place some ice packs in the airbox (the kind you can put in the freezer to freeze and can be reused). as the air enters the airbox, it'll get cooled down. don't know how long the packs will last though. give it a try and let us know the results.
Old 07-23-2003, 06:47 AM

This is typical to all cars, by especially highly tuned naturally aspirated cars like ours. Boils down to getting cool intake air to the engine so the engine computer doesn't switch to a less aggressive tuning. Anywho, the basic solutions include:

1) Cold Air Intake (CAI) replacement for the stock airbox. In the $100's cost. Small performance increase and pretty much eliminates the hot temp. bog.

2) Hondata insulation gasket. Under $100. Insulates the intake manifold from the engine preventing heat conduction to the manifold and throttle body which prevents it from heating incoming air. It does work there is documentation on Hondata's web sight. Installation is involved and the throttle body may become iced (stuck) in cold weather (not a problem in Vancouver).