S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

First Gear Starts?

Old 06-15-2014, 08:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Gear Starts?

Hi everyone i am just learning to drive standard in the S and i am doing pretty well, except recently been having problems with starting in first gear from a stop. If i am just doing some calm city driving what rpm should i be at when the clutch is completely out? because it seems better to be a little higher but i feel like i am burning the clutch. I have trouble being smooth at higher revs without feeling like i am destroying the clutch. (in an ap2 if that changes anything)
Old 06-15-2014, 09:07 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Welcome.

Check out the link in my signature.

I would do some searches on YouTube.
Old 06-15-2014, 09:38 PM

"Hi everyone i am just learning to drive standard in the S and i am doing pretty well, except recently been having problems with starting in first gear from a stop. If i am just doing some calm city driving what rpm should i be at when the clutch is completely out? because it seems better to be a little higher but i feel like i am burning the clutch. I have trouble being smooth at higher revs without feeling like i am destroying the clutch. (in an ap2 if that changes anything) "

Your post does not make much sense. When you are starting in first gear from a stop you do not need to rev up the car to engage it into gear. You can get the car rolling without any throttle if you just let the clutch out slower. When I start off in the s2000, I am pretty sure my clutch is all the way out by the time I'm at 1500 rpms. It just takes time getting used to, that's all.

When I'm driving in the city my RPM's are at around 3-4.5k. I keep it closer to 4k at all times. I think the car responds better and I have yet to have an issue.
Old 06-16-2014, 04:17 AM

Received 215 Likes on 148 Posts