S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

engine blown - need advice

Old 09-08-2005, 03:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine blown - need advice

my wife has a Honda Passport with extended warranty. While driving on Mass Pike, heard a noise from the engine, then oil light went on and stayed on. Pulled over and had car flatbedded to local honda dealer.

Warranty people are denying the claim saying I drove the car without oil. Engine was taken apart and they say that the damage is consistent with driving without oil!!

Any suggestions on how to proceed from here?? I'm not a mechanic, so I'm having a hard time trying to get them to understand that I drove for two hours from Sanford Maine to Auburn Mass (where oil light came on), and how could I drive the car for two hours without oil and not have the engine totally seize up after about 5 minutes??

I checked the oil before I left and it was fine. The Honda tech says he had to add 5 quarts of oil to the car before starting it up at their place. Where did the oil go? Did it burn up in the cylinders? There is no oil leak.

They say the rings are shot and this was caused by driving it without oil.

I did discover that the last oil change my wife had done they put in 5W-30 instead of the recommended 10W-30. It was driven for 6000 miles with this oil in it, mostly highway high speed driving.

Any suggestions???

Thanks.
Old 09-08-2005, 04:22 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Looks like a common problem with Passports and Rodeos.

http://auto.consumerguide.com/Auto/Used/re...iewreliability/

See http://www.motorcars-ltd.com/ubb/For...ML/000002.html

http://www.complaints.com/august2003/compl....august19.1.htm

http://www.carsurvey.org/review_79718.html