S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Is it that easy to lose your rear?

Old 01-17-2004, 01:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it that easy to lose your rear?

Hi I've been reading this forum for a while now and I'm really concerned about losing the rear because it frequently comes up on posts. I have been driving an integra which is a FF for about 9 years now. and Im thinking about getting a s2k pretty soon. Is it really hard to drive a FR?

thanx for your info~
drive safe
Old 01-17-2004, 01:55 AM

It's different and you should get in some practice in a parking lot, auto-x, or driver school to get used to the differences before driving too quickly.

Basically if you come into a corner too hot, letting go the throttle will push weight forward and cause the rear to slide out. It's much better to start the corner with a slower entry speed and get on the throttle during the corner to accelerate out onto the straight. Slow in, fast out.

It's quite important to keep the rear end settled when you'
re driving fast on road or track. Bumps and other imperfections can quickly get that rear to step out if you don't watch out. It's a good idea to keep some amount of throttle at all times during a corner to thrust some weight onto the rear to keep it in line.

A misshift or badly matched downshift can cause the car to jerk and that could be enough for the rear to slip, especially in a corner. This gets much more dangerous in the wet. If you haven't yet, practice learning heel-toe downshifting in your current car to prevent these kinds of problems with the S.

Since you're sitting pretty far back in the car, you're situated closer to the rear axle and you'll be able to feel what the rear is doing more. This is important to watch out for, so you can make corrections appropriately.