S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Considering S2000...

Old 07-22-2003, 07:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering S2000...

So I begin my posting career at s2ki with the token introduction: I've been lurking on this board for quite some time and have come across a lot of excellent information and this is my first post.

Greetings.

I'm considering purchasing a new S2000. I currently have a late model Prelude SH. I am very pleased with this car as a daily driver. However, I have always wanted a RWD roadster and the S2k seems to offer a good blend of reliability and sport.

The problem: Before I commit to anything I would like the opportunity to test-drive one. I'm a successful consultant in my late 20's and appear professional and affluent but it seems that dealers still balk at the idea of me test driving an S2000.

I don't understand it at all. I say to them: "I'm not sure I want this car. I need to drive it before I can tell you if I'm interested or not
Old 07-22-2003, 07:07 AM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

Try finding a used one to test drive. Then you can VTEC without hurting the car.

I am in my late 20's and went into one dealership in jeans and a sweater and they let me drive. I went to the second dealership in jeans and a tee shirt to buy. They would have let me drive it, but I didn't need to at that point.
Old 07-22-2003, 07:11 AM

call ahead. ask to speak with a salesman. if you don't like the one that you speak with, politely end the call and try again. S's aren't special enough to warrant the old "fill out the paper work first" or "put a deposit down" routines. a phone conversation is a five minute investment that will preclude all of the BS that you are encountering.

if you are showing up with another person, then the dealership may have a problem because there's only two seats for the three of you.
Old 07-22-2003, 07:15 AM