S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Complete noob looking for some perspective used S2000 Pricing.

Old 07-25-2011, 05:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete noob looking for some perspective used S2000 Pricing.

So, my idiot brother bought one of these things almost a year ago. I made the mistake of driving it. Shortly thereafter I was hooked (and now find myself needing a new car). The catch is, I can't seem to figure out what's a good price and what's not for a used S2000.

I have about $15k to spend. Would prefer an AP2 (they seem to have fewer issues, according to what I've read on here!) So, what's reasonable mileage-wise for around that price range? (If it matters, I'm in TX, but have the ability to get anywhere to buy one if the price is right)

(Thanks in advance for helping the clueless guy out)
Old 07-25-2011, 05:56 PM

For a clean title ap2 at that price, you'll be able to get anything from probably 10k-100k miles.

Depending on the mods the price can vary a lot as well. If you're looking at a modded car, look for something with wider/lighter wheels, wider tires, downforce, or a hard top. Intake/exhaust hp gains are negligible for how much the parts are. Be wary of buying a car without driving it if there is an exhaust, because many have a loud drone at cruising speeds that you'll probably hate after a few weeks.

But for a sub 30k mile, stock ap2 with a clear title, I'd expect to pay 15k. But that's not to say I haven't seen them go for 12-13k on here.
Old 07-25-2011, 06:06 PM

Ideally I'd like something bone stock. Most of the stuff I'm coming up with on the internet around here seems more than a little overpriced (according to the threads I read on here before posting)... Examples of what I've seen lately:

High mileage, and expensive

Drove this and liked it, but they weren't flexible at ALL on the price (and it seems way high)

AP1 and still pricey