S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Best Suspension For Road Holding and Handling?

Old 06-02-2007, 01:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Suspension For Road Holding and Handling?

Hi guys, Im new to the S2000 and am coming from a long line of VW ownership, so please bear with me.

I've been looking around at suspension options that would actually not change the stock suspension geometry, yet increase road holding and handling. Does anyone here have any input on this? I know that a good spring and shock combination would do the job ie Bilstien shocks w/ stock springs. What are people here running? Anyone here familiar with the S2000's suspension geometry? The car will be built to be a weekend trackday car. I did search and did not find what I was looking for. This is what I had more in mind:

http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?&id=...482260#27482260

http://e30m3performance.com/myths/Weight_T...t_transfer2.htm

Although both these pages are for VW's and the E30 M3, the information it provides is true for all cars equiped with MacPherson Struts.
Old 06-02-2007, 01:11 PM

Also to add, anyone running any kind of swaybars, stress bars, braces, etc please add any input as well
Old 06-02-2007, 01:38 PM

You might get more/better responses to this if you post it in the Racing and Competition forum. I would strongly suggest learning to drive the car well on the track in stock form before looking for mods. Stock handling is excellent, so if you want to get the most bang for your buck you need to focus the mods you make on the areas where you need to change things to better match your personal driving style and track conditions. The biggest improvement you can make in lap times will come from a good driving school.

Post your question in R&C for more/better answers.
Old 06-02-2007, 02:10 PM

Received 1,401 Likes on 839 Posts

It will be a long time before you master the stock suspension.