S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

bad cylinder #3, not covered under warranty?

Old 01-19-2004, 11:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bad cylinder #3, not covered under warranty?

Hi, I'm a newbie here and I need some help with my 2002 S2000. I've had 25000miles on it, and just last week, the CEL came on for the first time. Took it to the dealer, they fixed it by "updating the spark plug". About 100miles later, CEL came up again, took it to dealer for service and they said the spark plug was loose and needed to retorque it. As I was driving out of the parking lot, CEL came up again. Computer code said cylinder #3 misfired.

Left the car there for 2 days, then got a call back from them saying that I might have a bent valve, caused by a bad downshift or kept the engine RPM too high. They said that my cylinder #3 only has 120psi, when other cylinders have 175/225psi. This is not covered under warranty, and will cost me around $2200+tax (I'm in California)

But it could also be a loose or weak spring, which will be covered under warranty.

I would like to know if anyone had similar problems before? Like a loose spring? I am pretty sure I did not do any bad downshift or over rev the engine. I barely went over 6000RPM for the past 5000miles.
Old 01-19-2004, 11:48 AM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

I find it unlikely that you only bent one valve. If you overreved I would expect that more valves would have been bent. Sounds like they are setting the stage to screw you over.
Old 01-19-2004, 12:01 PM

CityHunter, I noticed that you're in Chino Hills. Which dealership did you take it to? I had a good experience at Hardin Honda in Anaheim when a CEL popped up. Since you only have 25k miles, you might want to try another dealership.
Old 01-19-2004, 12:04 PM

I would be on the phone with Honda and the State Govt. They have to prove that you caused a failure before they deny warranty coverage.
Old 01-19-2004, 12:17 PM