S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

another new member

Old 02-17-2001, 09:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just picked up my yellow S2000 today and I love it! I traded in my 4 month old 2001 Miata LS which is a great and fun little car but I originally planned on getting an S200 anyway, so here I am. Better late than never huh?

I found out about the S2000, or SSM (Sport Study Model) as it was know then, about 5 years ago while I was surfing some Japanese automotive web sites. I told some of my friends who work at the local Honda dealer that I have been buying from for about 8 years but they had not heard about it and doubted that it would ever be produced. A year or two later, it finally began to seem like a reality and early in 99, I told them that they would need to start a waiting list and I would be number one with a silver/red combo as my choice. A few months before it came in, I was told that the owners were going to ask $8-10k over MSRP and that they would not make any exceptions so I was kind of upset since I had been a loyal customer, having purchased three Hondas from them and bringing them a lot of referral business.

I basically gave up on getting one because I didn't figure that I would ever get a good deal on one and I joined my local Miata club and was having a lot of fun with the great people I met, so I finally broke down and got my 2001 Miata last October. I didn't really miss having the S2000 until a friend of mine got one and let me drive it and also because I saw a yellow one,the one that I now have, at my Honda dealer when I took my Miata by to show my friends there.