S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

#4 Cylinder, What really happened to my car

Old 02-02-2001, 08:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

02-02-2001 07:26 AM

I stopped by the dealer yesterday to check up on my car and found out that they had pulled the head off
of the motor. Here is what happened to my motor:

Apparently, the rod bearing that connected to the rod and piston broke. They had pulled out the bearing
and it was sitting there in what looked to be my oil pan, but the bearing was split in half, I took some pics
and I'll post it as soon as I can. This caused the rod and piston to break loose and begin clanking against
my cylinder walls. However, I don't know which cylinder it is or what caused the damage. Anyone want to
step in here, I'm no mechanic.

I can tell you that it was NOT due to driver abuse, power shifting, over revving, (oh, this is my favorite
question I was asked, "did you add alcohol to the motor") and all those other typical questions that are
asked when a motor fails. I broke in the car perfectly varying my RPMs, the throttle, and the amount of
time I was driving it. I hit vtec a few times at 600 miles but didn't even go WOT until after 1000 miles. The
only mods I have on the car is Rick's leather accesories which is good for about +5 hp to the wheels
which probably caused the engine to fail on me.

The short block on the car was also pulled yesterday and sent back to AHM for them to inspect it, so I'm
supposed to get a new short block in this week. While they have the car apart, I have requested to install
a Toda flywheel and perhaps a new clutch? I'm not sure about the clutch though, it's a "Honda clutch"
(that's the name of it) designed by one of their parts guys and its supposed to have much more grip than
the stock and Mugen clutch. However, seeing that my car is barely a month old, I may just do the