S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Track tire recommendations

Old 06-06-2022, 05:30 AM

Received 20 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Track tire recommendations

Ok. So my car is basically a former STR autocross car that I have been driving for 12 years. Due to having less time and more money than when I was younger, and the S2000 being buried in SCCA AutoX, I am pivoting more towards track days.

for the past 1.5 years I have been running in a local time attack series at Sandia Speedway in Albuquerque NM. I have been running in basically STR guise and have been using 200TW AutoX tires (A052 and Rival S 1.5) I find with this category of tire, my fast lap has to be in the morning during cool weather, first session during warm weather, and first 2 laps of the first session when it is hot out. Additionally they slow down over their life with me seeing about a 1s per 1.5min lap difference between them at their best and worst

so I am no longer doing autox and while these tires are doing ok for me currently, I plan to start adding a couple HPDE’s per year at other tracks and the current tires will melt away in a day or two under that useage based on my observations.

thus, I am looking for tire suggestions that are fast, and can handle HPDE lapping. If I only cared about the former, I’d stick to autox tires, if I only cared about the latter I’d get RS4’s and call it a day. My ideal tire would be within 1sec of the autox tires on a 1.5min track but stay that fast through most of their life and be able to handle longer sessions. The tire will go on dedicated track wheels, my street wheels will have More streetable tires that can handle rain so wet performance isn’t a concern. I also have no TW restrictions but do need DOT approval.