S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Suddenly tail happy

Old 06-01-2009, 08:05 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Suddenly tail happy

I'm looking for a little advice on where to look and what to do to tame a SUDDENLY tail happy car. By suddenly I mean other than when I accidentally ran too small a tire on the rear I've never had a tail happy problem until this last weekend. I prefer a car that's a little loose to one that plows, but this was ridiculous. My concern is the sudden ness of the change in handling characteristics. I haven't gone under the car yet to see if anything is torn or loose, but that will happen Wednesday evening.

I've hardly been able to autocross or do any HPDEs for almost 2 years. I got one autocross in last year and so far only one this year.

Historically I used to spend a lot of time on the track so I have some experience and am usually in the top 10% in just about any club type autocross situation. I've hardly ever been TTOD, but it has happened. I'm not a hot shoe, I'm above average, but in any case I'm quite rusty.

I am running an '02 with JIC FLT A2 15 way adjustables. The car is lowered, but not slammed I was running 235/265 Dunlop Direzzas version 1 tires. I bought the Direzzas last October just before my last autocross and had the car aligned to British specs. The car handled nicely.

The autocross this last weekend it was an absolute beast! I was 5-6 seconds behind people I'm usually running right with.

No changes at all have been made to the car since the last autocross. Everytime VTEC kicked in the back end kicked out.