S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Rear brake pad options

Old 08-20-2013 | 11:43 AM

Default Rear brake pad options

Hey guys

My OEM rear pads are about done so I'm looking at options for rear brake pads. My car is setup for STR and it sees the track maybe once a year. I'm currently running Ferodo DS2500 front pads. I have a set of HP+ rear pads that I got for free at a Chumpcar race. Do you guys think that will be too aggressive of a pad for the rear? Sell those and get another set of OEM pads?

I haven't had any problems with the OEM rear brake pads, but the HP+ are the easy button for me.

Thanks!

Patrick
Old 08-20-2013 | 12:29 PM

I've been using autozone specials for the rears for 2+ years now. I've traded in four sets of pads because of their lifetime warranty.

Now, there are definitely trade offs, such as less braking potential, forward brake bias, and possibly accelerated rear hub wear, but I'm ok with those potential downsides, considering I've spent $40 on four sets of rear pads, vs. $800 ($190/set + shipping).

Front pads, completely different story.
Old 08-20-2013 | 12:30 PM

I had hp+ on the rear and it deff through the brake bias off and did get a little squirrely under braking so I went with a less aggressive pad in the rear.
Old 08-20-2013 | 12:45 PM
Gold Member (Premium)