S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Question about AP1 Tire Sizes for Autocross

Old 09-28-2009, 07:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about AP1 Tire Sizes for Autocross

I am fairly new to Autocross (3 events) and about to purchase a set of Dunlop Star Spec Z1's for a set of stock rims I recently acquired as my dedicated Auto X wheels/tires. I currently run A Stock and plan on running it for a full season next year (I may run some STR as well.)

I see where in the Autocross FAQ's people are now running 245s all around on AP1s. My question is are you running 245's on the stock front wheels with the 6.5" width or are they going to a 7.5" width wheel? I'm assuming to stay in A Stock I would have to run 245's on the stock 6.5" wheels and am curious how the wider tire on the narrower wheel works out.

Also, what kind of tire pressures would anyone recommend starting out with with either the staggared or non staggared setups for a stock AP1?

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-28-2009, 07:55 AM

I run 245 Hoosiers all around and 225 Dunlops all around for street use.

The Star Specs don't come in 245 in the 16" sizes, only 225. I'm running four of those with the stock front and rear wheels. They're slightly pinched on the front vs. the rear. You need a bigger front bar with this setup. I've only done two days of the SoloPro school and some test and tune at Nationals but I liked 40 psi all around in the Dunlops. Lower the rear if you want more oversteer. Tire wear was even and the car was quite quick in the rain at the T'n'T.

If you run on a bumpy lot the 225 or 245 tires on the stock 6.5" front wheels will rub on the inner top edge of the fender liner, even with a giant front bar.
Old 09-28-2009, 09:29 AM

I guess I should have checked to see if the 245's were available before I asked.