S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Popping out of gear?

Old 08-14-2011, 05:44 PM

Received 612 Likes on 427 Posts
Default Popping out of gear?

So, to start, i probably have about 7-8 track days on my transmission fluid and 13K miles (it's my DD).

Today at ACS I was popping out of 2nd gear for turns 3/4 but I'm wondering if it's because i'm screwing up my shifting trying to focus on braking. If I focused on really putting it in gear, I didn't really have a problem.

One thing I'm wondering in general, is if you're IN gear should you be able to pull it out of gear and into neutral w/o stepping on the clutch? I've never tried this before (I always step on the clutch... duh - haha), but decided to give it a shot on the way home today. I was able to pop it out of gear in second, third, and fifth (I didn't try first, fourth, or sixth) at relatively low speeds - 20 ish MPH - off of the throttle just coasting. Should I be able to do this? I didn't hear any grinding of any sort or any sounds what so ever, it just seemed like a little bit more than the normal force you'd use for normal shifting. Of course, when putting it back into gear, i used the clutch, I didn't even try being stupid like that...
Old 08-14-2011, 06:56 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

There is a TSB out for ap2s popping out of 2nd gear on deceleration, The dealership should be able to help you out.

Eric
Old 08-15-2011, 08:27 AM

Thanks for the info.

I'll sort it out at my next track day. It only happened at this track. I was at an auto-x on Sat (the day before), running in 2nd the whole time and not once did it pop out of gear. My next track day will give me a clearer indicator, although there's only 1 second gear turn at that track.