S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

First HPDE in my '05

Old 01-21-2006, 08:40 AM

Received 427 Likes on 238 Posts
Default First HPDE in my '05

I have Mobil 1 synthetic in the motor and I'm swapping in some Motul brake fluid tomorrow. How do the stock brake pads hold up? What psi should I run on the stock tires? This particular track (Motorsport Ranch-Ft. Worth) isn't a super high speed track, I figure I'll probably hit just over 100mph on a few of the straights and 70-80mph on a couple sweepers.

Anything else I should watch out for? I have several years of track experience with a C5, but this will be my first time in the S2000.
Old 01-21-2006, 09:15 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Stock pads will hold up if you're not very fast. Seeing as though you have a few years experience on the track, though, I imagine you're gonna hit the limits of the stock system rather quickly. If I was you I'd begin calling around to find some aftermarket pads. If you can't find pads, just make sure you do a very thorough job of bleeding/flushing the fluid so the pads are your only problem. May want to rig some front ducts, too.
Old 01-21-2006, 10:00 AM

On the revisions for the AP2, Honda said they used new pad material. Any idea as to whether this is going to be better than the stock AP1 material?

I have a lot of experience on the track, so after about a half session, I'm going to be pushing the car to it's limits. I hope my pads aren't toast after the first track day. The Motul fluid flush will be thorough. A good, mechanically-inclined buddy of mine is going to help and he has some auto fluid pump that will do the full flush quickly and effectively.
Old 01-23-2006, 10:23 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by QUIKAG,Jan 21 2006, 02:00 PM