S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

from autox to track?

Old 01-19-2007, 07:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default from autox to track?

Hello, my question is this. Will autox time realy help you when you begin to track your car? I know the theory of entry, apex, and exit will remain the same but I would hate to autox for years and still have no clue how my car will behave in an 80 or 100 mph curve. I do plan to track my car but it will be a while before time will allow. (I live in batonrouge no tracks close).It would be nice to not be a total novice the first time I track the car. autox is alot of fun but I can see how track racing could be realy addictive! So if I undersand how the s feels at its limits on the autox track will It feel relatively the same when the speed is up?
Four example if while in lets say a 40 mph curve, you trail brake to induce some oversteer and you leave on a bit to much brake, and the slip angle is to high its okay to abruptly get on the gas to transfer weight and prevent a spin. Will that same "abrupt" transfer be ok in a 100mph turn? Thanks for your time
Old 01-19-2007, 07:51 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yes autocross will help. Actually anything that helps you learn your car and the skills of handling a car will help.

Yes, autocross is more 'abrupt" than the track but the understandiing of the feel of the car and how it handles will translate directly to the track.
Old 01-19-2007, 08:25 AM

Thanks for the input that is what I wanted to know.
Old 01-19-2007, 10:06 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are an experienced autocrosser you should have no problems at the tracks.
Old 01-19-2007, 11:19 AM

andy,
No Problems Raceway is near Donaldsonville. A great track not far from you at all.
Old 01-19-2007, 12:58 PM