S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Auto-X

Old 09-05-2006, 10:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Auto-X

The SCCA held an auto-x last week at Warminster Park.
I had never been to an event like this before & thought it was pretty cool. Best times were run by a Porsche & Corvette. ( 53-54 sec.)
Was thinking about running MY01 in the afternnon session, but since I am a novice, I thought I should learn a little more before trying it.
Anyone have experienece running their S?
Also, I have some questions:
What is course walking?
What is the best tire pressure to use with S02's? (they say to put in 10-15 extra psi)
What car class is the S or would I be in a novice class?
Does this type of driving have any negative effects on the S? (besides tire wear)
What is the best launch technique? (4000 rpm?)
Should you go fast & break hard or ease back & avoid breaking through the course?
Should you be in 2nd most of the time?
Would you suggest an instructor ride-along for the first time?
Any other tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thank guys...

Old 09-05-2006, 10:15 AM

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=172595

Check out racing and comptetition forum also.
Old 09-05-2006, 10:26 AM

That's a lot of questions. There is a "Racing and Competition Forum" below which is dedicated to questions like this. It will probably be moved there but I'll try to answer some of your questions.

Walking the course helps you know what turns are coming ahead so you can prepare your car while you're driving.

I just heard someone say 38-40 psi hot for S02 tire pressures.

If your car is stock and you're a novice it would be in A Stock Novice.

Negative effects? Just tire wear, but that is what this car was made for.

Just launch somewhat aggresively depending on how much of a straight you have at the beginning. Some say you have to rev to 6,000.