S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

alignment help

Old 07-20-2011, 08:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default alignment help

As the title states what is the best alignment setting for max grip/decent balance between front and rear. I dont care too much about tire-ware. Car being an ap1 dropped on espelir asd's running stock ap1 size dunlop direzza star specs on a 16/7et 45 and 16/8 et48.

I know alot of people say just stick with the uk spec but I was wondering if anyone ran anything else and liked it better than the uk spec.

Also what is a good psi to run in these tires? I am brand new to these and figure I'll go by rollover but still want to hear what you have to say?

Thank you guys
Old 07-21-2011, 03:16 AM
Former Moderator

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts

This is what I suggest for maximum grip on a car without camber-adding ball joints:

Front:

Have the mechanic set the front camber adjusters to max negative camber and leave them there--no more adjustments necessary unless he has to back off a little to equalize the settings with the other side of the car.

Then set caster to the stock setting (6 degrees for the AP1).

Repeat this on the other side of the car and make sure the settings are the same. Then set the toe to 0.

Rear:

Set the camber to match what you got up front and use the stock setting for toe-in (0.25 inch total AP1).

I'm in the process of doing a how-to on alignment. It's not finished but it's here: http://robrobinette....00Alignment.htm

Old 07-21-2011, 04:07 AM

Received 49 Likes on 36 Posts

I really want to learn to do alignments myself. A good alignment is something I swear by.
Old 07-21-2011, 04:43 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

For a while, on an otherwise stock ap1, I ran the UK alignment with an extra degree of neg camber front and rear. That setup was good for the track, but had a little too much push for auto-x.