S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

stupid highbeam/garage door mod question

Old 03-16-2009, 01:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stupid highbeam/garage door mod question

this is my garage door opener and i want to know if this is a 9v or 12v, the battary says 3v on it idk if that means 3volt, if so i dont think its safe to hook up to the highbeams but im no expert so you tell me

Old 03-16-2009, 01:52 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

are there more than one cell? you can hook up 3 three volts battery in series to get 9 volts

if you cant figure out how many volts it runs, you'll better off not messing with it
Old 03-16-2009, 06:10 AM

Received 100 Likes on 64 Posts

Don't put 12V into a 3V circuit. Use a 12V relay to "press" the button (keep the existing battery), or build a voltage divider to step down to 3V to drive the circuit.
Old 03-16-2009, 04:07 PM

Like Jeff said above...Use a 12V relay to "press" the button.

John
Old 03-16-2009, 05:19 PM

If you look at the pic above and you have to push the larger button on the right. What you need to do is un-solder S3 and place a relay in its place. Then the coil side of the relay will connect to your high beams. It is a real simple mod to do.

John
Old 03-16-2009, 06:40 PM

You just need to pick up a small relay that you can get from Radio Shack. Look at the circuit and see how it is setup. That will determine what type of relay you need. I wish i could help more, but i would need to see the remote up close.

John
Old 03-17-2009, 04:37 AM

OK I think I confused you. There are two ways to make this work. I will list them out below.