S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

OEM Hood Venting, Ideas/results?

Old 06-20-2011, 04:38 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default OEM Hood Venting, Ideas/results?

Alright, to start off, I am an Electrical Engineering student at USC, and i've been pondering going up to get my hood vented by a member here later this summer. I am an avid supporter of FUNCTIONALITY. I know that from a stop, the vents will keep my FIPK sucking in some cool air. However, while moving, how functional is the hood really? I still want to do it, but i have been measuring and looking at several forms of NACA Ducting/louvers. Here is where my posts purpose comes into the light.

With the oem hood, uncut, the air is directed through the front bumper, around the radiator, and into the bay, which can escape out the bottom, and the windshield side of the hood while in motion. Check-

With the OEM hood, Vented, the way the hood is shaped, the hood's vents will pull air in, but, with the air coming in from the radiator etc, how much air would it let in, or would it force hot air out? (((((Is the goal of venting to VENT hot air, or induct more cooler air?))))

I am working on some rough sketches to see if that clears up what im saying.

GOAL: To find a setup of Naca ducts, louvers, or other modifications that could direct MORE air in and out of the bay, and keep it cooler in the bay, as well all know, a cooler bay is a happier bay. (also looking into rain details/covers, if i figure something out, i will gladly post all templates, measurements, and products/companies i used for others to make their own)
Old 06-20-2011, 05:22 PM
Gold Member (Premium)

Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts

Start by removing the weather strip for the back of the hood that runs in front of the wind shield.

Fight On.
Old 06-20-2011, 05:44 PM