S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

New to Modding

Old 03-13-2009, 04:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Modding

Hi All,

I'm pleased to say I've ust bought my first s2k and I'm loving it. Now I've got one I'm open to mods. Being a total novice I haven't a clue whats good and whats not so............

What mods should I consider?
Why should I consider them?
What benefits do they give?
What's the approx cost?
What will it do to my insurance?

I'm ready to explore a whole new world.

Thanks
Old 03-13-2009, 05:19 AM

Received 49 Likes on 36 Posts

First we need to know what exactly what you are trying to use the car for. fun daily driver? track car?
Old 03-13-2009, 05:33 AM

also there is a thread on here about best and worst mods. Look it up. It will help you to choose where to start.

Go with springs, wheels or bolt ons to start. Like everyone else. It will help you learn to not be afraid to work on your car and as weird as it sounds get a little more in touch with it.
Old 03-13-2009, 07:27 AM

If you don't know what mods you 'want' you don't need any. Drive it awhile and figure it out. Don't mod just 'cause you can, do it for a reason.
Old 03-13-2009, 07:36 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

In various discussion forum sites I visit people seem to jump too quickly on the mod bandwagon. Regardless of what you're talking (cars, PC's, radar detectors, the list can go on indefinitely) about spend some time to get familiar with the item. Then you'll have an idea of where you want to go. Modding for the sake of modding is pretty pointless unless you just have cash lying around that you need to burn.

Also spend some time reading up. There's a ton of info already out there. You're basically asking us to summarize this entire forum (and site) in a single thread.