S2000 Modifications and Parts Discussions about aftermarket products and parts including reviews, information and opinion.

Engaging VTEC Earlier

Old 03-10-2009, 08:48 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Engaging VTEC Earlier

So, it seems to make sense to engage VTEC earlier for performance, yes? I've seem that around 4700 seems to give fine results.

To my understanding, you need a fairly complicated system to do this. But wouldn't it be something relatively easy to do on it's own? I'm a layman in this area, so my idea probably won't make sense. Anyway...

The VTEC solenoid needs to see a number of requirements be met before it makes the switch. One of them is RPM (though I assume it's really the ECU that sees this and sends the signal).

RPM should be monitored by a signal which is either a voltage range or a series of pulses, I would imagine. Couldn't something be put in-line that would magnify the signal to make the solenoid think you are at a higher RPM than you really are, therefore engaging VTEC earlier?

The big problem here would be that the info probably goes through the ECU, and tricking the ECU into thinking that you're at the wrong RPM could mean other problems like wrong fuel delivery, fuel cutoff, etc, etc, etc.

So someone please explain why this wouldn't work and how these systems really function if you don't mind - that'd be great! Or maybe explain how the aftermarket systems do it to see if that one function could be emulated in a more simple fashion without the full tuning ability, etc.

Now that I'm thinking... didn't they used to make VTEC controllers for Integras and other cars? Can those be used on the S2000?
Old 03-10-2009, 10:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts