The S2000 Gallery Cornucopia of sight and sound! Show your friends your S2000 photos, S2000 images, S2000 photochops and S2000 videos.

Guide to taking and editing pictures (Long)

Old 06-01-2005, 02:36 PM

Received 101 Likes on 62 Posts
Default Guide to taking and editing pictures (Long)

Many people on the forum have asked me what camera I use and what steps I take in getting nice pictures so I have decided to make a quick tutorial on some basics on taking and editing pictures. I am by no means an expert; I only got started in photography a few months ago. Hopefully some of the more expert photographers on here with enlighten us all on how we can improve our pictures even more. The following will just be an outline on some basics.

Cameras: I use a Canon SD400 and Nikon D70 for my pictures. The Canon is a basic point and shoot and the D70 is a full-featured digital SLR. Both are great cameras. You can pretty much use any camera with a manual mode to get decent shots. On most digital cameras you can adjust the ISO, Shutter speeds, and aperture. As long as your camera has a manual mode you will be good to go. However, if your camera does not have adjustable shutter or aperture taking good pictures might be difficult. For point and shoot cameras I prefer Canon. They make excellent cameras and have a lot of adjustability. Their manufacturing quality and the materials used on the body are of the highest I have seen in point and shoot cameras. Nikon makes great cameras as well. Unfortunately if your camera does not have any manual settings you are out of luck. In addition to a decent camera, you will need a tripod. A tripod is essential in photography and is absolutely necessary for night shots.

Location: Just like real estate, location is very important. You do not want a backdrop where it distracts from the car. The car should be the point of focus in the picture. Do not pick a location where the backdrop overpowers the car.