The S2000 Gallery Cornucopia of sight and sound! Show your friends your S2000 photos, S2000 images, S2000 photochops and S2000 videos.

Countersunk stock knob

Old 05-13-2003, 01:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Countersunk stock knob

Well, this is my first time posting any sort of mod on the site, so I apologize if its not complete. Plus I apologize if this has been posted, but I have never seen it here before.
-
This is for those of us out there that love our stock shifter knobs. Personally, I love my02 knob. Even though I have wanted a countersunk knob, I wasnt willing to change mine out. So after talking to Turnfast at the charlotte Zaino clinic who countersunk his, I knew that was the way to go.

I talked it over w/my roomate we removed the knob and flange nut and threaded the rest of the shaft until it widends out.

----------
In the process of threading the shaft, we had to use vice grips at the top for grip (that was ok since we were planning to cut off some to drop the knob anyway....At this point we used a dremel and vacuum(to reduce mess) and cut off some of the shaft.

-
11/16" to be exact. It took 2 trys to find the right height, but we did!!

==============
Next he had to "bore out" a little from the inside of the knob so that it would drop further - we worked our way up to a 1/2" drill bit.

===============
When it was all said and done, we dropped off a total of 11/16" from the previous hight. this provided to major bonus's.
1. The obvious = the knob is lower.
2. that gap between the leather and the knob is no longer present:

================================================== ====