S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

Not building boost? What do I check

Old 07-17-2013, 10:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not building boost? What do I check

Hey everyone,

I bought this turbo S2000 about a month ago and I'm still learning everything about S2000's and turboing them.

Two weeks ago I noticed the boost gauge was sitting at -14 and it wasn't moving. When I did a pull it would backfire at a certian point. I checked everything and I found 2 burnt vacuum lines. I immediately replaced those and everything was fine after that. The gauge was reading correctly and the car was pulling as it should.

2 days ago I noticed that the gauge was sitting at -9 for a long time and wasn't moving. Then it would sit at -10 for a long time and not move, and then -8 for a long time and not move. The gauge read as if the car wasn't building pressure, but it was maintaing the same pressure through all RPM's. The car still pulled fine and the BOV would release pressure on a heavy shift, so I know there was in fact psi being built up.

So here's what I have done:

-The first thing I did was check all of the vacuum lines to make sure nothing was burnt like last time. Everything appears to be fine and I can't find anything burnt or disconnected anywhere.

-I recently got a vented hood and the boost gauge I have is pretty cheap, so I thought maybe the boost sensor got wet and shorted. I replaced the sensor with a brand new one, but it did nothing.

-I thought that maybe the boost gauge just went bad since it's bad quality, so I replaced the actual gauge; but it did nothing.

I took the car for a drive around the block and the boost gauge is sitting at -14 and isn't moving.

What should be the next thing I check? I really don't know where to go from here. Any help would be appreciated!
Old 07-17-2013, 10:58 AM