S2000 Forced Induction S2000 Turbocharging and S2000 supercharging, for that extra kick.

comptech SC w/ 5 psi pulley

Old 07-04-2006, 04:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default comptech SC w/ 5 psi pulley

im new to this FI thing. ive never been on to these coz usually im running stock except for suspension upgrade. i like to have the sleeper look. but now wanna try a new route. so im planning to put a comptech SC with 5psi pulley but no aftercooler? what numbers should i expect? and second, if ever i would like to upgrade toa 7psi pulley would it still be possible to run this set-up without aftercooler/FMIC? your input is very much appriciated.
Old 07-04-2006, 04:32 PM
Gold Member (Premium)

Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts

Figure about 12 to 15 horsepower for each pound of boost. Yes, you can run it without the intercooler but be forwarned the boost charge will be much warmer with the subsequent decreased performance.
Old 07-04-2006, 04:46 PM

sideways: how about the situation on 5psi boost since its lower. im planning to do a custom FMIC after and if i have enough time. if not maybe next summer. ive been tied up at work lately.
Old 07-04-2006, 05:09 PM
Gold Member (Premium)

Received 21 Likes on 15 Posts

Originally Posted by lend_type_R,Jul 4 2006, 05:46 PM
sideways: how about the situation on 5psi boost since its lower. im planning to do a custom FMIC after and if i have enough time. if not maybe next summer. ive been tied up at work lately.
The lower the boost the lower the intake charge with some exceptions. Owners have run there S2000s with up to 7 lbs with no intake cooling.

Why would you do the front mounted intercooler. Do you just want it for looks? Five pounds boost with a front mounted intercooler would yield about 3 pounds boost.

The Comptech intercooler is a very efficient device the way they have it.
Old 07-04-2006, 05:22 PM