S2000 Engine Management Engine management topics, map and advice.

Adjusting VTEC, rev limiter, and launch?

Old 09-06-2014, 06:46 AM

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Adjusting VTEC, rev limiter, and launch?

Hey guys, I'm completely new to the whole Hondata and the Flashpro usage but I just recently picked up a Flashpro and a K&N FIPK intake.

I followed the steps by updating everything, locking it to my car and even uploaded one of the base maps "06+ USA/Canada with Injen intake".

I really haven't driven the car much since installing both the intake and the flash (it's been raining) but I don't really notice a difference other than the crazy sound from the intake . I don't even think it changed my vtec engagement point (I'm not even sure it's supposed to).

I've read through the FAQ's and tried searching but have come up with more questions than answers but being that I don't have any experience with the whole tuning thing, would it be safe for me to try and lower it myself to around 5600rpm? Again, I don't know anything but I'm up for learning.
I'd also like to setup some sort of launch control rpm hold and safely increase my redline to 8.5k rpm.

I'm wondering if I'm biting off more than I can chew.
Old 09-06-2014, 07:16 AM

Received 28 Likes on 27 Posts

If you still have the stock cat then you aren't going to see much benefit in lowering VTEC. I'm not certain Flashpro has a launch control feature but raising the rev limiter to 8500 is fairly common. I would not use the default tunes, send Gernby a PM and get a e-tune.
Old 09-06-2014, 07:48 AM

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

I looked at buying a test pipe but read a lot of posts about people saying the exhaust sounds hollow which turned me off from getting one.

I'm not looking to build a full fledged race car but trying to optimize what I have now without making too much noise.
If I want to go really fast I'll just hop on my motorcycle