S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Suggestions for new radio head

Old 10-15-2011 | 02:50 PM

Default Suggestions for new radio head

Hey guys,

I wanted to know what I need to be able to use my iPod/iPhone on my radio. I am a noob and I am not looking for anything special. I want just enough to be able to play my music off of my mp3/iPod touch. I am not planning on upgrading stereo or adding any amps ever. I currently have regular stock speakers and will continue to unless they die out. I just want to be able to utilize my music without having to use cds as the only source for music entertainment. Tried of having to burn new cds ever few days.

Goals:

- Use iPhone/iPod/USB devices while having the device charging
- Sub $200 would be awesome. The best bang for the buck would be awesome! If I can spend less and still reach my goal, the better it is
- I would like to have the option of being able to choose the lighting of the radio
- I want to be able to use the s2000 dash control to skip music on the iPod if possible (I think the DCI mod does this)
- The least cables I need to cut to make the radio work, the better for me (I would prefer the simplest)
- the least cables I need the better to charge and play music the better (from what I have read, most radios only need the iPhone charging cable to play the music now without having to use the aux cable?)
- Also, the mounting of the iPhone would be nice as this picture from one of the members here posted:

Originally Posted by dirtykoala
Thanks for the help and any suggestions anyone can make.

EDIT: Also, are there radio units with dvd screens built in so they flop out and give you the option of watching movies? That would be awesome...depending on the cost of course.
Old 10-15-2011 | 09:12 PM