S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Subwoofers? Amplifiers? Rear Speakers?

Old 06-22-2002, 05:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Subwoofers? Amplifiers? Rear Speakers?

I got questions! :-)

So what exactly is a subwoofer and what is its purpose?

When do I need to install an Amplifier in my car?

Will installer new door speakers and rear speakers require me to install an amplifier?

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-22-2002, 05:18 PM

I'm not an expert, but I'm the first to respond, so here you go.
1) A subwoofer reproduces the lower frequencies (bass) and is not necessary but is great to have.
2 You NEED a separate amp to run a subwoofer. You don't need an amplifier to run your front speakers and optional rear speakers, but again, is great to have.

You can improve your stereo significantly by upgrading your front speakers and adding rear speakers. You will need a couple of items from Lucid (a site sponsor) like a rear speaker harness to connect to the head unit (radio). There is a lot of good information on his site.

You can spend a little on upgrading your stereo or a LOT.
Old 06-24-2002, 02:00 AM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

for the s2000, i think a decent setup is:

new headunit
Polk bundle from Lucid
maybe a Bazooka tube if you need bass

this can be done for about $500
Old 06-24-2002, 02:37 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by urpow
[B]I got questions! :-)
Old 06-24-2002, 03:59 PM

A single speaker cannot reproduce all the frequencies the human ear can hear accurately - so speaker companies generally use 2-3 speakers to do it.

Subwoofers reeproduce base much more efficiently and accurately (well, if you don't build it to 'thump')