S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Speakers, amp and HU

Old 10-06-2009, 06:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speakers, amp and HU

1. i would like to state that i am an audio noob, I have searched for about an hour and am 10x more confused than i was before. I can do an install but have no clue about the physics/science behind selecting the proper gear.

2. having said that i want a very simple system. I just cannot stand not being able to hear music.

HU (will also be getting adapter for side controls)
upgraded Speakers (po put in some basic pioneer, should i upgrade from these?)
Upgraded tweeters (stock)
Amp powering everything (pref a small one for under or behind the pass seat)

Who has a similar setup that i can copy? I need suggestions for the right speakers and amp to give me nice clear sounding music at about 70 mph

3. noob question, is it possible to power a small 8in sub using the same amp as the amp i plan to power the 2 speakers and 2 tweeters with? (dont think so but figure i would ask)

I really appreciate the help, i have searched and hope that someone can help me out

Old 10-06-2009, 07:13 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

How much money do you want to spend for everything? ~$1000, or only ~$300? The more you can spend the better you can sound.

And what year is your S, because the stock 00 stereo is considerably poorer than the stock 08 stereo.

You should be looking at getting a high RMS power rating with low noise to speakers that are built to handle it. Companies will typically rate their products with XX W RMS @ X% THD from XX Hz-XX kHz. You want reasonable power at low noise from 20Hz to 20kHz, ideally. THD = Total Harmonic Distortion. If THD is high at the rated power, it means the stereo sounds like garbage at that point. If the range is narrower, it means they're not accounting for either low or high frequencies.