S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Please critique my stereo setup

Old 07-25-2009, 09:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Please critique my stereo setup

For a MY06 S.

After reading the FAQ and doing some research of my own, here is a preliminary list of what I plan on installing:

- Head Unit: Alpine CDA-9886
- Front Speakers: Infinity Kappa Perfect 6.1
- Rear Speakers: Infinity Kappa Perfect 5.1
- Amp: Rockford Fosgate T600-4
- Modifry's DCI
- Spods

My goal with this system is improved sound quality over stock, that I (not necessarily everyone around me) can hear with the top down.

My questions/requests:

1) I am a stereo newbie so please comment about any of the products I'm purchasing.
2) I read in the FAQ that you want the preamp voltage from your head unit to be supported by your amp. I know the voltage from the Alpine above is 4 volts, but I don't know if the Fosgate amp supports it. Any help?
3) The Fosgate amp will be able to run each speaker at 100 watts RMS which is what they're rated for, but ideally I'd want a power surplus. Any possible problems from not having a power surplus?
4) Is my system overkill for my goal? I've read that music sounds so much fuller with rear speakers, but I almost wonder if I need them.

Thanks for the help!
Old 07-25-2009, 09:14 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

did you already buy that stuff? i would never recommend rockford fosgate as i have had bad experiences with them.

and most people aren't going to say that any of the stuff you have is going to produce "high quality" sound
Old 07-25-2009, 09:18 AM

Originally Posted by DFWs2k,Jul 25 2009, 09:14 AM
and most people aren't going to say that any of the stuff you have is going to produce "high quality" sound
I've listened to the speakers if that's what you're implying.
Old 07-25-2009, 09:25 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts