S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Noob Installing Amp and Speakers

Old 01-31-2013, 06:31 PM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Noob Installing Amp and Speakers

Hey electronics sub forum. I'm a total audio noob and have been reading up on the FAQs and audio threads related to what I'm getting ready to do this weekend. I have a Dual XPE2700 2-channel 400W amp, and a pair of Polk DXI6500 component speakers (the ones with external crossovers). I am retaining the stock head unit.

I punched some numbers using Crutchfield's wire gauge selection chart and came to 10 gauge wire for the power/ground for the amp. I will get a 30 amp inline fuse for the power wire and mount it close to the battery. I read somewhere that 18 gauge wire is fine for the signal wire, and I did another gauge calculator from somewhere that told me to use 14 gauge speaker wire (but someone else on here said 16 gauge would be plenty?). Any feedback on my wire gauge selections?

I plan on mounting the amp under the passenger seat, or is this a bad idea? I will run the power and ground through the passenger side firewall grommet, down the passenger door "S2000" foot panel, and under the seat. I'll tap into the signal wire on the radio harness and run the 18 gauge wire through the center console to the amp. The amp has high level inputs so I will intercept the R+, R-, L+, L- signal in the OEM harness and run them down the center console to the amp's inputs.

One thing I am unsure of is how to run the 14 or 16 gauge speaker wire out of the amp to the speakers... I have heard that I don't want to run them along side the power/ground wires. So should I run them back up the center console alongside the inputs coming from the head unit? Will this not give me any interference?