S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Little info about rear speaker install.......

Old 05-04-2004, 03:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I recently installed a set of Pioneer rear speakers in a set of homemade s-pods and discovered a great little piece of info. After reading many posts on how to make the HU connection, including soldering the wires to the pins, pushing the wires into the harness and using the LUCID cable on MY00-03, I decided to examine the situation myself. Upon inspection of the radio harness pin configuration I realized that I had seen that style pin before. I am a computer technician and I realized that those pins are used on an ATX power supply for computers. I proceeded to dig up an old burned up power supply and removed four pins from the small connector that plugs into the floppy drive unit. These can be removed using a jeweler's screwdriver. Insert the screwdriver into the small slot on the top of the plug and push the locking tab down and pull the pin out. I clipped the wires leaving enough to splice my speaker wires onto. These pins are a perfect fit for the HU harness. Just bend the locking tab back out and insert into the radio harness. I used the wiring diagram from McGuyver's website and made the connection. Everything is working great without the hassle of the other methods. If you need to make this connection and happen to have an old power supply laying around....give it a try. Hope this bit of info helps someone out there.
Old 05-04-2004, 07:11 PM

Very nice Good call

You should do a how to regarding this.
Old 05-05-2004, 07:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

*nods*

do a how to, and we'll have it linked up in the FAQ.
Old 05-05-2004, 09:18 AM

I'll break out the digital camera and takes some shots of the process.
Old 05-06-2004, 04:45 AM

I tried some camera shots yesterday but they were just not up to par..........will try again today.
Old 05-06-2004, 10:49 AM