S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Inline amp fuse size, and wiring question.

Old 05-18-2005, 05:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Inline amp fuse size, and wiring question.

Here is my current setup:

Head Unit: Alpine 9827
Doors: Kenwood 1669S (powered by head unit)
Sub: Infinity 1030W (powered by amp, bridged)
Amp: Profile CA800

Yesterday on my way home from work I blew the fuse inline with the amp power to the battery. No big deal. So I look in the manual to get the recommended power fuse size and I can't find it. How do I calculate what the fuse size should be? Right now I've got a 25A in there.

While looking in amp manual, I see something about tri-mode wiring. I am pretty new at this so I have no idea if tri-mode wiring is good or bad. Right now my head unit is powering my 6 1/2" door speakers and my amp is dedicated to the sub. Do I have my system wiring in the optimal configuration?

So far I'm unimpressed with the Kenwood 6 1/2 drivers. They have a annoying brightness that I can't seem to get rid of in the high frequencies, and the mid range is also not that great.

This forum has been a huge help in fitting everything in the car, so a big THANKS for all the great info!

- Thomp
Old 05-18-2005, 07:39 AM

you are never going to be satisfied with the speakers unless you have some real power on them, no matter what your deck says you arent getting that much power to them

i really am not sure what size fuze should be in your inline box but i have like a 60 in mine
ive never had a issue with it on any of my cars...
id assume you should get the same size fuse that your amp has if it does, i have a jl 500.1 so it doesnt have a fuze internally
Old 05-18-2005, 07:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post