S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

HU with in-dash control, Eclipse or ?

Old 04-29-2010 | 01:22 PM

Default HU with in-dash control, Eclipse or ?

Hi,

I've been trying to choose new HU for some time. A few specifications that are important to me include reliability, sound quality (esp. bass), i-pod interface, option for red LED, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY THE ABILITY TO DIRECTLY HARD WIRE TO IN-DASH CONTROLS.

I'm deciding on the Eclipse CD5030 but nervous about the company withdrawing from No America distributions.

Can anyone recommend another HU with the option to make hard-wire connection with the dash controls? I understant Modifry is an option but would rather not deal with the extra cost or special optic wiring.

I'm a newbie and appreciate any input. Thanks.
Old 04-30-2010 | 05:10 AM

I'd highly recommend not underestimating the value of having a community of Modifry DCI users that can help you if you run into problems. The "extra cost" of the Modifry DCI is negligible IMO considering that it just works and works well with the S. If dash controls are a priority for you, I strongly recommend finding a head unit compatible with Modifry's DCI. Most head units out there are going to need a DCI anyway and you're just severely limiting your options by looking for HU's with a built-in DCI.
Old 04-30-2010 | 07:56 AM

If you want the least amount of hassle, go with an Alpine unit... with a Modifry DCI (just get the harness form Modifry, no splicing necessary) this recommendation is based strictly off least amount of work necessary to get everything working.

Otherwise you're going to have to get an aftermarket DCI which you'll have to program and deal with the other hassles associated with it. Most aftermarket DCI's I see go for 60-99 bucks on Amazon and Crutchfield.