S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Electronic Guru's and Pc Guru's HELP

Old 01-03-2004, 10:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electronic Guru's and Pc Guru's HELP

i'm a newbie to both and i'm in need of help. please pm if you think you can offer some help.

the obstacle: powering pc without pressing the ON button on the tower.

is it possible to extend the button away from the tower to another location?
or can it boot by detecting power? ex. if i flip the switch of a surge protector
Old 01-03-2004, 11:15 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Yes, and yes. The first solution is easier to accomplish, but potentially more dangerous...simply use an extension to the wires connected to the power switch and move the switch somewher convenient.

The second method is possible, but involves detecting current flow sensing (actually, most surge supressors have LEDs now, so I would suggest tapping it at that point as a signal wire). Whatever method is used to detect the "On" state, it's a matter of connecting a relay to the computer's power switch.
Old 01-03-2004, 11:25 PM

dangerous!?! how can it be dangerous? i can see the wiring but i'm not sure where i can buy a connector of that type (male and female)

how easy is the second method? my experience as an electrician is little to none. are there some easy directions or somewhere i can go to get this done?
Old 01-04-2004, 08:39 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It's more dangerous because you're stringing a high-voltage line outside of its normal grounded case.

The second method is just as I described...the LED current is used to latch a relay. The relay then replaces the CPU's switch.
Old 01-04-2004, 01:20 PM