S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Dome Light Issues

Old 11-13-2006, 09:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dome Light Issues

Hey guys, I know this is a total NOOB question, but I just realized that my dome light isn't working when I open the doors. The lights work when I push their individual buttons, but the light that used to come on when I opened the door no longer works. I checked the fuse, and it seems to be ok. I also tried the OFF/ON switch and got nothing. Any advice?? Thanks again!
Old 11-13-2006, 02:28 PM

Received 241 Likes on 180 Posts

I am working from memory, but I think my car has 3 positions. Off, On and Door. So you say each light comes on individually but they do not both come on when you switch to ON? Also, they don't come on from the door switch when the switch on the light is set to Door?
Old 11-14-2006, 03:24 AM

EXACTLY. I get the dinging sound when the door is open and the key is in the ignition, but no lights.
Old 11-14-2006, 08:00 AM

I would say bad contact in the slide switch at the dome light or a disconnected wire there. Just a guess as I do not have a wiring diagram.
Old 11-14-2006, 10:58 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Do you have regular light bulbs or high-power lights or LED replacements in the ceiling light?

The ceiling light is not directly turned on by the door switches, rather by the Keyless Entry Module. The fact that it 'dings" means the switches are good and the Keyless Entry Module 'sees' the doors opening. But for some reason the ground output from the KEM is not getting to the ceiling light.

There are 2 reasons why that might be - 1) bad KEM or wire, or 2) bad diodes in the ceiling light.