S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Car Alarm help!!!

Old 04-15-2003, 03:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car Alarm help!!!

I will be getting my S2000 in 5 days (time is passing by so slowly!) I was wondering if anyone could recommend an alarm? I was looking at the Clifford Matrix 3... but being a newbie I have no idea what's good out there. I'm looking at around $350 installed at most... please help!!! Thanks!
Old 04-15-2003, 04:11 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Remember to factor in the cost of installation. I consider the quality of the installation far more important than the cost of the alarm.

I would recommend finding a shop that has good references. This is the kind of place that will do the install correctly the first time.

The brand of alarm also matters, but not as much as installation quality. Viper, Clifford, Alpine are all good brands and cover a wide price bracket. You will also want a dual-zone motion sensor if you ever want to park the car with the top down.
Old 04-15-2003, 04:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you might consider William's alarm offering. depending on the options you do or don't want, he offers a reasonably priced alarm that he sorta 'pre-wires' for the S2000.

just do a search for WLaurent and alarm - you should find it relatively quick.
Old 04-15-2003, 05:29 PM

Aren't his alarms based on the fact that one has an alarm already installed? Or does the remote entry system suffice?
Old 04-15-2003, 06:23 PM

i believe the remote entry suffices. i think it mainly just reuses the factory remotes...

still, you'd have to ask him. i talked to him about adding one to mine (and plan to do it in the coming months), and the question about whether i did or did not have the oem security never came up... *shrug*
Old 04-15-2003, 06:54 PM

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts