S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

amp worth it?

Old 08-04-2006, 12:20 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default amp worth it?

im a total noob. any help would be appreciated. im not crazy about audio, but can appreciate clear sound especially with the top down on the fwy. if i already have a new head unit and speakers, but no amp, would adding one make a big difference?

thanks
Old 08-04-2006, 12:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It depends on the speakers. In most cases an amp with the components will get you the most volume. However, you could find speakers with high sensitivity that are designed to run without an amp. The higher the sensitivity rating the more voume the speakers can produce from the available power. Basically, it depends how much you want to spend.
Old 08-04-2006, 12:52 PM

an amp would allow you to play music louder, with less distortion, and higher playability range (threshold before distortion)

given that you have good speakers and good install

i mean .. its not a clear question to answer simply... or quantitatively.. or qualitatively....

but, i guess, YES.. you would want an amp
Old 08-04-2006, 12:58 PM

thanks, can you recommend a good value amp. cheaper the better and would like it to not take up much space. maybe fit under the seat?
Old 08-04-2006, 01:26 PM

Received 215 Likes on 148 Posts

It depends on what you want out of a system. If you want to be able to hear the radio at 70 mph, a good HU and speakers (I have an Alpine HU and Polk Audio speakers) will suffice.

An amp is not necessary, but will boost sound - remember, the factory HU is very, very weak, has horrible sound, and the speakers just plain suck. Almost any aftermarket hardware will impress you!

If you want booming sound or even just a nice low-end fill, you'll need a sub, and an amp to power it. You'll also need to run better wires at this point to get the most out of your system.