S2000 Electronics Information and discussion related to S2000 electronics such as ICE, GPS, and alarms.

Alpine 9827 and Sub-W RCA Out

Old 05-05-2005 | 07:12 AM

Thumbs up Alpine 9827 and Sub-W RCA Out

I'm a newb with car audio, and I'm a little stumped. I have an Alpine 9827 head unit connected to a 200W amp (don't ask the brand, it's embarassing) that is driving a single Infinity 1030W.

On my head unit, to get anything even remotely powerful coming out of my sub, I have to crank the SUB-W level to +15 (max). Is this normal? I've adjusted amp gain, other head unit controls, etc.

I knew the amp was relatively weak for the driver, but could it be that bad? I've got a new amp on the way that should do 600W bridged at 4 ohm, but I'm not sure that's the problem. I am correct to use RCA inputs over high-level inputs, right?

Or am I just expecting too much?

- Thomp
Old 05-05-2005 | 07:53 AM
20 Year Member

I remember reading somewhere that +15 is really the normal output strength and 0 is really -15 but I never verified it. I have the sub level on my 9815 set to +15.
Old 05-05-2005 | 09:13 AM

Thanks for the info! That would explain what I'm seeing.

Kinda weird to have +15 be the untouched signal, though. The "+" should implicate adding something. Is that the norm for other Alpine units?
Old 05-05-2005 | 09:21 AM

you are correct... and chances are you read that from me (if you saw it here.) +15 is the normal output strength (0 dB relative to the other HU outputs Front and Rear) and 0 is -15 dB (relative to the other HU outputs).

i did a good bit of research to find out this info, but the end result is if you pull up the technical specs on the Alpine HU in question, you'll probably find that info tucked away in there. (it is not listed in the manual.)

somewhere here, i have the whole discovery process documented.... if you'd like to see that -- i'll have to find it later, just ask here.
Old 05-05-2005 | 09:22 AM