S2000 Brakes and Suspension Discussions about S2000 brake and suspension systems.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Sake Bomb

Master Cylinder/Booster Issue

Old 11-27-2013, 08:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Master Cylinder/Booster Issue

It seems I have an issue with my master cylinder or brake booster that cropped up a week ago when I did a brake bleed. Here's a post for the Norcal forum detailing what originally happened:

I was working on the car getting it ready for Thunderhill on Sunday and it looks like I made a mistake somewhere in bleeding the brakes.

Here's a brakedown of the steps I did:
Switched from stock pads to Hawk's on all 4 corners. Before pushing the piston back in on the first corner I drain maybe 1/3 to 1/2 of the brake fluid out of the master cylinder. I then switched all the pads and pushed the pistons back enough so the caliper would fit back over the pads. Bolted everything up and then proceeded with the bleeding.

I tried to follow billman's guide here: https://www.s2ki.com/...eeding-revised/

I did not have the fluid warm and didn't take a spirited drive beforehand. I also didn't have a turkey baster so I used some tubing and siphoned as much fluid out of the MC as I could. I wasn't able to get anything in the front. I then used a paper towel and got pretty much all the fluid and debris out of the back. It was pretty damn clean. I then filled the MC up with the new fluid. Next I proceeded to bleed the passenger front. Old fluid was amber, new fluid was amber, but after 15 minutes I was able to see the fluid coming thru was almost clear (a dark honey color when I first started bleeding). This seemed good and I would say I bled about a cup or so of fluid.

One thing I did was do a sort of lever motion with the tube. I let the fluid build up for about an inch and then I "tipped" the tube down to let the fluid clear out. Perhaps doing this forced an air bubble back into the line?