Pacific Northwest S2000 Owners For S2000 Owners in Washington, Idaho, and Alaska

Relocating to Seattle from So. Cal.

Old 03-29-2002, 02:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Relocating to Seattle from So. Cal.

I need some advice. I'm more than likely relocating from Southern California to the Seattle area in a couple of months. The question is whether to keep the S2000 or trade it in for a 4WD.

I've read a couple of your horror stories regarding the snow earlier this month...not good. I don't even take the car out when it rains around here--take the wife's Suburban instead.

My question is: what's the consensus up there? Do most of you drive the S2000 in the rain/snow or keep a second car for the wet days? Also, is 4WD the way to go up there--should I trade out the 2WD Suburban for 4WD?

It may seem like a stupid question to you, but I'm a real wet-weather novice...just looking for some tips from those who know.

Thanks so much.
Old 03-29-2002, 03:26 PM

First, remember you are not moving to the Midwest (where I moved from). Snow in the Seattle area is an anomaly and when it occurs, it melts very quickly. I am not sure where you are going to live/work, but if you are a frequent traveler over "the pass", than certainly the winter months will not see you doing that in an S2K. I am going to guess, however, that you will not need to regularly travel into the mountains, so the S2K will be more than fine as a daily year around driver. I've used mine as a daily driver since purchasing it 2 years ago, and I have had no issues. Perhaps because I learned to drive in snow country (Wisconsin) explains why I have never had an issue in the wet. Many whom I have seen have problems when it rains are those trying to drive the car like it was a dry sunny day. I am not saying you have to drive like your grandmother, but you do need to have more respect. As I've said, I have not had a single issue (knock on wood).