New England S2000 Owners New England S2000 Owners

Tires

Old 07-30-2008, 11:27 AM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Tires

Ok, I need to get new rears and soon. I need them before noreaster. So that leaves me little time to order receive and mount I currently run a kumho supra 712 tire on all corners. Kumho discontinued the 712 and now they make another tire the kumho ecsta spt . Well here is my question. I do not need fronts just rears would it be ok to mix the 2 different types of tires. They are all directional performance tires from the same manufacturer. Or do i just chuck the good fronts "like new" i have now and buy all 4 of the ecsta spt's?

I do like kumho tires i have run them for 5 years now and im very happy with them for my style of driving. And they are cheap!

oh if anyone has 2 245/40/17 supra 712's with decent tread let me know. I need to buy some by the end of the day tomorrow.
Old 07-30-2008, 11:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

As a technician I would say you should run all four of the same tire. The reason being that the front tires will have diffirent characteristics then the rears as in grip, alignment due to wear, tread life. My suggestion would be to buy four new tires and keep the original fronts as "just in case" tires if you happen to pop one or something along those lines. With that being said you can completly ignore anything I said and just throw two new rear tires on and see how the car feels. The mixmatching of them will not be a problem for state inspections. I personally like having four matching tires.

just my 2 cents.
Old 07-30-2008, 11:48 AM

Received 330 Likes on 279 Posts

Old 07-30-2008, 11:48 AM

Originally Posted by BO(RED),Jul 30 2008, 03:43 PM