New England S2000 Owners New England S2000 Owners

My first New England winter...

Old 10-15-2007, 03:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My first New England winter...

Hi All,

My S2000 is a daily driver, I'm new to the Boston area, and I'm looking for a little advice on dealing with my first New England winter.

I live in the Back Bay area of Boston and work in Needham. My daily commute only involves major arteries (Boylston, Mass Ave, the Pike and 95). Are winter tires a necessity?

If they are, given the expense of buying the tires, having them changed twice a year, and storing the tires I'm not using (I live in an apt), would it be wiser to simply spend a few thousand dollars on a winter beater?

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-15-2007, 03:45 PM

yes - the first winter question in this forum!!!!

let me give you the holy bible answer

1. yes you NEED snow tires if you want to drive in New England, not just because of the snow but because the drop in temp <40 degrees will make your summer tires as hard as hockey pucks with the same type of traction.

as far as snow tires vs. beater - this is beaten more than rented mule or a red headed step child

my personal opinion is

1. if you can afford it
2. have a place to store your S

then yes get a beater because the combination of salt and snow is never nice to the S, not to mention the tons of crap that will be kicked up on your front end.

and personally - its not fun to drive a lightweight convertible in the winter time.
Old 10-15-2007, 03:55 PM

I second the second vehicle. My previous ride was an Audi TT. I drove it one winter and at the end of that winter I had so many nick and bumps that I never drove it in the winter again.