Mid-Atlantic S2000 Owners Members from Maryland, DC and Virginia

Berk 3" Exhaust Install on MY02 - AP1

Old 05-05-2013, 08:08 AM

Received 47 Likes on 44 Posts
Default Berk 3" Exhaust Install on MY02 - AP1

Alright, ladies and gents. My newly acquired exhaust should be arriving in the forthcoming days along with a new gasket, spring bolt, and rubber AP2 hangars (the system didnt include them.)

Most likely will be doing this install in the garage with the car on jack stands. I've never done this before and the only other thing I've done on the car prior is install the FIPK. I've searched the forums on the step-by-step exhaust removal, but the thread is dated and pics are no longer hosted. Does anyone have an updated pic thread of the removal? What are the tips and tricks I need to know when doing this install from the headerback?

I appreciate your assistance - I'm in Richmond, VA. I'll update the thread when I have a definite day I plan on doing the install - if anyone wants to lend a hand and offer advice and tips or just come hang out with some car people.

Thanks,
Mo
Old 05-05-2013, 10:06 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It's really easy. Having 2 people handle the stock exhaust is recommended because it's really heavy. Make sure you have anti-seize and some soapy water for the rubber hangers to slide out and in easier. If the bolts don't want to come out, get some PB Blaster.

The whole installation is the bolts and hangers. I had the most trouble on the hangers. Take out #7 hanger on the resonator first. Then move on to both #7 hangers on the muffler. Take them out on the top first. Have the rear wheels off and push from the wheel well. Make sure to have gloves when doing this! So when removed, the #7 hangers should still be on the exhaust. The last hangers you have to worry about are the triangular ones. Try twisting/pushing them back and forth while applying pressure towards the front of the car.