Georgia S2000 Owners For owners from Georgia

need help... CV buckets

Old 08-12-2011, 07:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help... CV buckets

alright guys im getting that horrible vibration from the rear of the car... i am lowered but i have spacer, so it seems like i need to flip the cv buckets... i am not a mechanic by any means of the word but i do try toplay DR with my car here and there, i was wondering if any of you guy have done this and can give me any pointer's or even help out, i live in the roswell/alpharetta area, but work in kennesaw... so this is would be for you N.Ga folks, thanks in advance guys
Old 08-20-2011, 06:21 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I am a little too far away to help here in NC, but I just did this swap a few weeks ago and it solved my vibration under acceleration issues which surfaced after lowering the car. This is the how-to that I used, coupled with the one on s2ki.

http://forums.s2kca.com/showthread.php?t=21680

The swap can be quick and painless, but you need to prepare yourself with the right tools. A large 1/2" drive breaker bar is a must in order to remove and replace the axle nuts. There are some crazy methods out there for removing the axle nuts, but if you have a 1/2" drive or larger breaker bar, then you should be able to man-handle those things off. I think it is a 26mm socket you need for the axle nuts; these can be bought at autozone for about 6 bucks.

While at autozone, pick up a "Pittman tie rod end puller" from their available rental tools. This will allow you to easily pop the ball joint on the bottom of the knuckle. Don't try to get around doing this by disconnecting any linkage arms, or else you will end up screwing your alignment up. The tool is like ten bucks, but the money is refunded in full when you return the tool.