Florida S2000 Owners Florida S2000 Enthusiasts

Track Event Question

Old 05-19-2009, 12:53 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Track Event Question

A friend and fellow car/racing enthusiast told me today that track events that were deemed "driver improvement events" (or something similar, not sure if the exact terminology) were covered under insurance in the event of an accident.

Seeing as I've never done an event before I think it would put my nerves at ease and allow me to have a lot more fun if I knew I was covered under insurance.

Can anyone confirm or deny this or give me some more guidance?
If its true, specifically what kind of events are these?

Thanks,
-Will
Old 05-19-2009, 01:10 PM

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts

I thinks it's for personal bodily injury and not car insurance.
Old 05-19-2009, 01:45 PM

Originally Posted by djdorifto,May 19 2009, 01:10 PM
I thinks it's for personal bodily injury and not car insurance.
Lol, I was more worried about hurting the car than myself.
Old 05-19-2009, 01:48 PM

Received 100 Likes on 64 Posts

You can also buy track-day insurance for HPDE events.
Old 05-19-2009, 01:54 PM

Originally Posted by jeffbrig,May 19 2009, 01:48 PM
You can also buy track-day insurance for HPDE events.
Through who? Any idea on approx how much it runs?
Old 05-19-2009, 02:20 PM

Search the track forum, but it's based on the stated value of your car. At one point when I looked, I was thinking it would be <$150 for a track day.
Old 05-19-2009, 02:26 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I was told that once as well but I called my ins agent and he said that nothing track related is covered. Not event the parade lap for the SPGP. My roommate is an ins adjuster he said he has never seen anything on policy that would cover track related events either. Your best bet would be to buy track day ins or in the even of an accident tow your car to the street and say it happened there. IMO.
Old 05-19-2009, 03:00 PM

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts