84.21%
Try to repair and match the paint
15.79%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Repair Shop Responsibilty

Old 02-09-2007, 06:26 PM

Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Repair Shop Responsibilty

If you received a new $2300 set of Volk Racing wheels today and you brought the wheels to a local reputable Automotive Shop to have the tires mounted and balanced, then he told you that he accidentally damaged the outer lip on one wheel, (about 1/4 inch gouge), does he owe you a new wheel or do you let him repair it as he suggests? Repair shop is to remain nameless.

Votes and comments appreciated!
Old 02-09-2007, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

new wheel. You brought it as a new wheel. If it was a year or older, a repair might suffice. But the wheel was brand new.
Old 02-09-2007, 06:48 PM

I'm no expert on this subject but my limited understanding of the law is that shop must repair or replace; meaning they would try to repair first and if they cannot then they would replace. Here in Miami we have Turbax wheel they will repair the rims to factory condition I'm sure you have a shop in Orlando or Tampa that can do the same. Good luck
Old 02-10-2007, 07:31 AM

MYS2KI,
That may be true however under the circumstance of liability, there is also the act of negligence because according to a Mackin Industries (sole importer for Volk, Advan, and Ray
Old 02-10-2007, 08:21 AM

I think SickHonda had a problem exactly like this.

PM him on how it went. I think he is out in your area.

my thoughts.
Old 02-10-2007, 08:36 AM

How bad is it? If it was me I would definetly try to get a new wheel out of them.
Old 02-10-2007, 09:38 AM

FIDreaming,