Carolinas A Better Place to Be

Zmax autox

Old 04-12-2015, 03:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Zmax autox

I stopped by the zmax autox yesterday (April 11) and was really impressed. Saw a few s2ks there but none we're running at the time. They were parked behind and there was a yellow one at the side. I parked in the back with most of them. What a cool experience! I gotta try this some time. Can anyone who dose this in Charlotte walk me through the process? Since I am new to this, I have no idea where to start. I have a car and helmet. That's it.
Old 04-12-2015, 04:43 AM

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts

For your first event, all you need to do is register and show up. The organizers typically send an event email with all of the details...what time does registration open, the day's schedule, etc. I've found that with rare exception, everyone in the track/auto-x hobby is extremely helpful. One of us will usually be there as well, so we can help.
Old 04-12-2015, 05:12 PM

look in motorsportreg.com. You can enter your zip code and search for local events. For Zmax I prefer to run with Porsche PCA Carolinas since they are very organize and their events runs pretty fast
Old 04-12-2015, 06:02 PM

Received 215 Likes on 148 Posts

One of these weekends I need to get to this and run it; haven't had a free weekend that coincides with the events.

Eye fly, if you show up you should be well taken care of.
Old 04-13-2015, 05:38 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

In my opinion, Porsche Club of America (PCA) is a great club to run with if you are already an experienced autocrosser (maybe have 6 events under your belt). You do get more seat time at a PCA event and things move at a quicker pace because of the lower attendance numbers.